Tax Commissioner

The Habersham County Tax Commissioner, an office established by the Georgia Constitution and elected for  four-year terms, serves as agent of the State Revenue Commissioner for the registration of motor vehicles; and performing all functions related to billing, collecting, disbursing and accounting for ad valorem taxes collected in this county on behalf of the State of Georgia, Habersham County Commission, and the Habersham County Board of Education.

Also, pursuant to state law, the Tax Commissioner is responsible for the collection and disbursement of mobile home taxes, public utility taxes, land taxes, and timber taxes.

Responsibility for assisting taxpayers with property tax issues lies partly with the Tax Assessors' Office and partly with the Tax Commissioner’s Office. Questions regarding assessments, preferential assessments and exemptions, and the filing of property tax returns should be directed to the Tax Assessors' Office at 706-839-0100.


 The Tax Commissioner’s Office is now located in the new Administration Building at

130 Jacob’s Way, Suite 202
Clarkesville, GA  30523

Online Tag Renewals

Habersham County residents may renew their motor vehicle tags online by clicking on the link to the right.

View and Pay Your Taxes Online

Habersham County taxpayers may pay their property tax bills online by credit card by clicking on the link to the right. Tax bills may be located by providing one of the following:

  • Taxpayer Name
  • Map/Parcel ID
  • Property Address
  • Account Number

Payment can be made by MasterCard or Visa. If you have any questions or problems regarding this service, please call our office at 706-839-0120. A 2.5 percent convenience fee is added to your total tax bill for using this service.

Note: Please allow 1-2 business days for your payment to process and update.

Sales of Property with Delinquent Taxes

Sales are announced in the news on this website. Please check the news often to see if a sale is scheduled and for a listing of the properties to be sold.