Educational Opportunities Abound

Habersham County offers a wealth of educational opportunities for students of all ages, from the very youngest starting Pre-K to the adults who wish to complete their education at various levels.

Public School System

The Habersham County School System is located in the beautiful hills of Northeast Georgia. A continuum of educational services is available to all students through an instructional program which ranges from kindergarten through secondary level, as well as extensive opportunities for those with special needs.

Led by a five-member elected school board and superintendent, the Board of Education operates 14 schools in Baldwin, Clarkesville, Cornelia, Demorest and Mt. Airy. All schools are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Schools include Baldwin Elementary (K-5), Clarkesville Elementary (K-5), Cornelia Elementary (K-5), Demorest Elementary (K-5), Fairview Elementary (K-5),  Hazel Grove Elementary (K-5), Level Grove Elementary (K-5), Woodville Elementary (K-5), North Habersham Sixth Grade Academy, South Habersham Sixth Grade Academy, North Habersham Middle (7-8), South Habersham Middle (7-8), Habersham Ninth Grade Academy, and Habersham Central High (10-12).

Tallulah Falls School

Tallulah Falls School is an independent, coeducational boarding and day school serving over 400 students. They enroll day students in grades 6-12 and boarding students in grades 7-12. Tallulah Falls School is situated on a pristine, wooded campus built on the southern slopes of Cherokee Mountain in northeast Georgia. Only 90 miles from metropolitan Atlanta, students find themselves immersed in an atmosphere that not only fosters academic excellence but also encourages an appreciation for nature and the preservation of natural resources.

Post-secondary Schools

North Georgia Technical College, a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia, is a residential, public, multi-campus institution of higher education serving the workforce development needs of Northeast Georgia.

The college provides access to student-focused occupational programs at the associate degree, diploma, and certificate levels; Adult Education; and customized business and industry training through traditional and distance education methodologies and college-wide services.

The Clarkesville Campus of North Georgia Technical College is located in a mountain setting off Georgia Highway 197 one mile and a half north of Clarkesville, the county seat of Habersham County. It is situated on 339 acres with the campus covering approximately 40 acres. It is 30 miles northeast of Gainesville, 50 miles north of Athens, and 90 miles northeast of Atlanta off Interstates 85/985 and 365.

North Georgia Technical College continues to aggressively pursue additional opportunities that will expand the skills of the workforce in Northeast Georgia including the addition of new programs as well as college-to-college and system-to-system articulation agreements throughout the state of Georgia.

The college is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).

Piedmont College, founded in 1897 in Demorest, is an independent, comprehensive, co-educational liberal arts college with more than 2,000 students representing approximately 20 states and 10 countries.

One of the most dynamic small colleges in the Southeast, Piedmont’s 100-acre residential campus in Demorest, is located in the the foothills of the north Georgia mountains. The  Athens campus is designed for commuting students and is located in the heart of Georgia’s Classic City.

The student/faculty ratio is 14 to 1 and most professors hold a doctorate or the terminal degree in their field. Piedmont is known for the individual attention and one-on-one instruction provided by professors whose first commitment is to your education.
Piedmont currently offers undergraduate degree programs, graduate programs in education and business, and a doctoral program in education.

The college is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), the National League of Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC) and the Association of Collegiate Business Schools (ACBSP).