Avita Community Partners Board

The Avita Community Partners Board consists of one Commission-appointed resident from each of the 13 counties represented in the Northeast Georgia area who are involved in and committed to services, as well as being responsible for guiding policy, contractual expectations and representing both client and community input.

Legislation requires that at least 50 percent of Board members be either clients themselves or have a family member who is a client. This direct connection ensures that there is representation of the various disability groups.

Legislation also requires that the Board have four elected or appointed officials as members. The four appointments are made by the counties making the largest cash or in-kind contribution to Avita Community Partners. One additional Board position may be appointed by the Board of Directors to address variations in county population size and financial contributions to the Community Service Board.

The Avita Board meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Board Room of the Administrative Offices in Flowery Branch. Board meetings are open to the public.