Based in Clarkesville, the Northeast Georgia Regional Library System consists of six affiliated libraries in Habersham, Rabun, Stephens, and White counties. The Habersham branches are in Clarkesville and Cornelia. The four counties cover a geographical area of approximately 1,067 square miles.

With its participation in the Georgia Library PINES (Georgia Library Public Information Network for Electronic Services) program, the Habersham Public libraries serve not only the residents of Habersham County, but also library users at 225 other participating libraries across the state. PINES lets library users check out and return books at any public library in Georgia, providing access to more than 7.5 million books, free of charge.