Weapons Carry Permit
The following information has been provided to answer frequently asked questions about handgun licensing and is not an attempt to practice or interpret law. Probate Court employees are not allowed to answer any questions about handgun licensing. Any questions you might have may be answered by viewing the website www.georgiacarry.org.
Weapons Carry Permit Fees
The cost for a new permit is $71.00. The cost for a permit renewal is $30.00.
A Weapons Carry Permit can be renewed within the 90 days prior to the expiration date and no more than 30 days after the expiration date. Whether a new permit or a renewal, you are required to go to the Sheriff's Department for a background check.
O.C.G.A. 20.4.1 Fireams License
The law does not permit, outside of a person's home, motor vehicle, or place of business, the concealed carrying of a pistol, revolver, or concealable firearm unless he/she has a valid pistol license issued under code section 16-11-129 and then the firearm must be in a holster, hip grip or any other similar device; in which event, the weapon may be concealed by a person's clothing, handbag, briefcase or other closed container.
Carrying on the person in a concealed manner other than as provided above is not permitted and constitutes the offense of carrying a concealed weapon.
The law does not forbid any person who is not ineligible for a firearms license from transporting a loaded firearm in any private passenger motor vehicle in an open manner or in the glove compartment console or similar compartment of the vehicle.
O.C.G.A. 20.4.3 Carrying a Pistol without a License
No permit is required for persons with a valid hunting or fishing license on their person or for persons not required by law to have a hunting license who are engaged in legal hunting, fishing or sport shooting when the person has permission of the owner of the land on which activities are being conducted, provided the pistol, whenever loaded, must be in an open and fully exposed manner.
O.C.G.A. 20.4.7 Eligibility to Purchase Handgun
Georgia has established an instant background check system whereby firearm dealers must contact the GBI (Georgia Bureau of Investigation) by telephone for a criminal history and involuntary hospitalization records check prior to completing the sale of any handgun, with certain exceptions. The instant background check requirements do not apply to potential buyers who hold a valid license to carry a pistol and exhibit the same to the dealer.