Navigation Bar bottom corner image

Planning Commission

Many times the Planning Department has been confused with the Planning Commission, an understandable mistake since the Planning Commission is a seven-member board associated with the planning and zoning part of the Building and Planning Department. What is the purpose of the Planning Commission? How does it affect Habersham County residents?

The Planning Commission has two main functions: Assess and approve or disapprove subdivision plans and hear variance, map amendment (zoning change), and conditional use requests. It is the final authority as regards subdivisions, but for everything else, it is an advisory board that makes recommendations to the Board of Commissioners, which has authority to grant or refuse the request.

Planning Commission board members serve staggered three-year terms and are appointed by the Board of Commissioners. They usually meet on the second Tuesday of each month in the Commissioners' meeting room at the Courthouse, and meetings are open to the public.


Click here for Contact Information
Website designed, built, hosted, and maintained by Southfire

Footer background image