Navigation Bar bottom corner image

Driver Services

The Georgia Department of Driver Services was created on July 1, 2005, when the Department of Motor Vehicle Safety (DMVS) was dismantled. Its services were divided among the Public Service Commission, the Department of Public Safety, the Department of Transportation and the Department of Revenue and the DDS was created, according to House Bill 501, to handle driver's license services.

Toccoa Customer Service Center No. 7 offers the following services:

  • First Issuance
  • Out of state transfers
  • Regular road tests
  • Motorcycle road tests
  • Driving history reports (MVR)
  • Regular knowledge exams
  • Motorcycle knowledge exams
  • CDL exams

To Obtain Your First Driver's License (Class D)

In an effort to improve the safety record of teenage drivers, the Georgia Legislature has enacted several new regulations for first time drivers over the past few years. The requirements are:

  • A valid learner's license must be held for one year and one day from its issuance. It must be surrendered at the time of testing.
  • Effective January, 1st 2007 16-year-olds must be in compliance with Joshua's Law. Joshua's Law states that if you are 16 years old, you must complete a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services in order to receive a Class D License. Those individuals who do not complete an approved driver education course must wait until age 17 to become licensed.
  • Appointments for on-the-road tests are highly recommended and may be scheduled up to 90 days in advance by calling toll free 866-754-3687. Walk-in road tests cannot be guaranteed and may involve lengthy wait time. Have the driver's permit number available when calling.
  • Applicants must know their social security number. The number is required to issue a permit.
  • A parent or legal guardian must sign an affidavit at the time of examination that the applicant has had at least 40 hours of on-the-road driving training either privately or 20 hours of on-the-road training in conjunction with a driver's education class.
  • A parent or legal guardian with a Georgia License or ID Card will have to sign for you. The legal guardian must have a certified guardianship paper from court or adoption paper with embossed court seal.
  • A Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form must be signed and notarized from your school. It is only valid for 30 days. All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from your local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program.
  • You must have the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card. CLICK HERE for more information or call 800)-245-4410.
  • Applicant will be required to pass an eye and a driving test.
  • The vehicle the driver is testing in must be properly insured, registered, have a valid tag and must pass a safety inspection. You will be asked to show a valid insurance card. You may not take the test in a rental car.
  • The license fee is $10 cash, money order, check, or credit/debit card.
Important Information

You may not apply for or keep a driver's permit or license if you withdraw from school (if you are under age 18), have a total of 10 unexcused absences or have any conduct infractions.

If you receive a traffic citation after you receive your license, your license may be suspended. Paying the citation fee does not indicate that your license will not be suspended.

Driver License and Identification Card Fees

Effective July 1, 2005, all Georgia driver's licenses and identification cards will be issued for extended renewal periods and reflect a new fee schedule. The new fee schedule is shown below and does not include the $5 discount for those who choose to renew by mail, Internet or telephone.

DDS Customer Service Centers accept cash, money orders, checks, and credit cards for payment of fees.

Type Valid Fee
Class A, B, C and M (Organ Donor Program) 5 year $20.00
Class A, B, C and M (Organ Donor Program) 10 year $35.00
Instructional Permit (Class A, B, C and M) $10.00
Provisional License (Class D) 5 year $10.00
Georgia Identification Card 5 year $20.00
Georgia Identification Card 10 year $35.00
Georgia Identification Card for Voting Purposes Only $10.00 None
Replacement License* $5.00
Honorary Veterans and National Guard Until age 65 No fee
CDL Initial Issuance requiring Road Test $70.00
CDL Instructional Permit $10.00
CDL Renewal (Plus $5 for each additional endorsement) $20.00
Controlled Substance Permit $25.00
Habitual Violator Probationary License $210.00
Limited Permit $25.00
Veteran / Honorary License 10 year No Fee
Veteran / Honorary Identification Card 10 year No fee

Driver's license holders are allowed one free name or address change per renewal period. Any other modifications or additional name or address changes require the payment of the full renewal fee.

*A replacement driver's license may be provided at a cost of $5. A replacement license is a duplicate of the previous license (no modifications or changes) and may be provided at a cost of $5 per occurrence. The replacement license will be valid for the remaining renewal period, or if it's within 150 days of the original expiration date, the license must be renewed for a new term.


Internet Services

The Department of Driver Services is proud to bring E-Government services to the residents of Georgia. The goal is to make your experience with the Department of Driver Services easier and more convenient while preserving the privacy of personal information. The following services are available online:

  • Replacement of Lost License
  • Reservation Status
  • Driving History (MVR)
  • Online Address Change
  • Driver’s License Renewal
  • Order Status
CLICK HERE to use the new online features of the Department of Driver Services.

Search


Click here for Contact Information
Website designed, built, hosted, and maintained by Southfire



Footer background image