It is Georgia State law, as well as a Habersham County Ordinance, that all dogs and cats 3 months of age or older must be vaccinated for rabies. Rabies vaccines must be administered by a licensed veterinarian. Not only does the vaccine protect people from possible rabies transmission from your pet due to a bite, but it also protects your pet from contracting the virus if it comes into contact with a rabid animal.
Facts about rabies
- Rabies is a viral disease that affects the central nervous system.
- Rabies can infect any warm-blooded animal.
- There is no cure for rabies, and it is almost always fatal. Once clinical signs occur, an infected animal usually dies within 5 days.
- The only way to test for rabies is by examination of the brain tissue of a dead animal. There is no way to test for rabies infection in a live animal.
- The rabies virus is spread by contact with the saliva of an infected animal. Transmission is usually through a bite wound, but the disease has been known to spread through scratches or existing open wounds.
- Incubation period is defined as the period of time between exposure to a disease and the onset of clinical signs -- for rabies can vary greatly. The typical incubation period is 3-8 weeks but can be as little as 9 days or as long as several years in some rare cases. The incubation period depends on several factors, including the location of the entry wound, the severity of the wound, and the animal’s immune system. In general, the farther the wound is from the brain, the longer the incubation period will be.
- An infected animal can only transmit rabies after the onset of clinical signs.
- The most common rabies carriers in the U.S. are raccoons, bats, skunks, and foxes.
- Human rabies cases in the U.S. currently average 2 per year. Cases of rabies in domestic pets average 400 to 500 per year.
- The early signs of rabies typically include behavioral changes -- the animal may appear anxious, aggressive, or more friendly than normal.
- As the disease progresses, animals develop hypersensitivity to light and sound. They may also have seizures and/or become extremely vicious.
- The final stage of rabies is typified by paralysis of the nerves that control the head and throat -- the animal will hyper-salivate and lose the ability to swallow. As the paralysis progresses, the animal eventually goes into respiratory failure and dies.
- Georgia state law and county ordinance require all dogs and cats 3 months of age or older be vaccinated for rabies.
- Georgia state law and county ordinance require rabies quarantine for animals that have bitten a person or another domestic animal.
- Georgia has a mandatory rabies quarantine for vaccinated and unvaccinated pets who have been bitten by a wild animal or who have a suspected bite wound of unknown rigin.
Why a 10-Day Quarantine?
In Georgia, an animal that has bitten a human or another domestic animal must undergo a mandatory 10-day quarantine period.
The quarantine is set at 10 days because a rabies-infected animal can only transmit the disease after clinical signs have developed. Once these signs have developed, the animal will die within 10 days.
If the animal lives beyond the 10th day, it can be said with certainty that it was not shedding the rabies virus at the time that the bite occurred.
If the animal dies before the 10th day, it can be tested for rabies. If the test is positive, a human bite victim will still have enough time to receive post-exposure vaccinations to prevent rabies infection.
Why a 6-Month Quarantine?
In many states, an unvaccinated domestic animal that has been bitten by a wild animal or that has received a suspected bite wound of unknown origin must undergo a 6-month rabies quarantine. Habersham County requires that this quarantine be carried out in an approved facility at the owner’s expense.
Because the incubation period for rabies is usually less than six months, this quarantine period is meant to ensure that the animal does not have rabies before it is allowed to come into regular contact with humans and other animals again.
If an owner is unable to comply with this law or cannot afford to pay for the mandatory 6-month quarantine, the only alternative for the pet is mandatory euthanasia and testing for rabies.
Keeping your pet’s rabies vaccination up to date will ensure that he/she never needs to be quarantined for 6 months, even if he/she is bitten by a wild animal.
Tips for Protecting You and Your Pets
- Always keep your pet’s rabies vaccine up to date. Puppies and kittens should receive their first rabies vaccination at 12 weeks of age. Pets must be vaccinated yearly.
- Keep your pet’s rabies vaccination certificate in an accessible location.
- If your pet bites a person or another animal, consult your veterinarian immediately. All bites should be reported to Habersham County Animal Care and Control. An animal control officer may contact you to file this report, and you will be required to show proof of your pet’s rabies vaccination.
- If your pet is bitten by another known domestic animal, consult your veterinarian immediately and ask the owner to provide proof of rabies vaccination. If the other animal is not up to date on their rabies vaccine, it is advisable to report the incident to your local animal control authority to ensure that the animal is quarantined appropriately.
- If your pet receives a suspected bite wound from an unknown animal, or if your pet comes in direct contact with any wild animal, even if no wounds are evident, consult HCACC and your veterinarian immediately. Your veterinarian may recommend a rabies booster.
- If you are scratched or bitten by any animal, either wild or domestic, consult your physician immediately. If required by your state’s rabies law, your physician will report the incident to your local health department and animal control agency. If the animal is a pet, ask the owner to provide proof of rabies vaccination.